minimalist check-in and changing habits

 

Here’s a quick post to give an update on my “minimalist” progress.  it’s been about a month since I decided I wanted to make some big changes in my life, and head towards a minimalist lifestyle.

I’ve gotten rid of about 3 Toyota Yaris size car loads of stuff, all donated to Goodwill.  I’ve been selling on average about 5 items a week of stuff I already have, and have most importantly, have not purchased any new non-consumable items.  Hello progress!

Letting stuff go has been liberating in so many ways.  My apartment stays much cleaner because everything has a place now, there’s nothing extra thrown about.  Well, I guess that’s not entirely true.  I notice that I always seem to have way too many dirty dishes for one person and my small kitchen still seems to get cluttered pretty quickly. 

Also, I still have too many clothes.  I admit that I have a hard time letting go of them because they are mostly like-new and everything I’ve kept so far, I’ve kept because I like.  I definitely want to work on this until I only have the clothes I love and laundry isn’t such an ordeal because I have so much stuff to wash. 

So my next minimal-izing goals are to keep working on decluttering one clothing item and now, one kitchen item per day until I get to a point where my kitchen and my closet are full of items I use regularly and love.  ( I realize that it may be weird to love kitchen items like a  spatula but you get my drift right?)

The second phase of my minimalist journey is to change my habits.  The first habit change I’ve decided to tackle is waking up early.  I’m not a morning person but I’ve always wanted to be.  Instead, I’m a “wake up at the last possible minute, rush around frustrated getting ready for work, and ultimately being late for work”.  It’s not exactly a “zen” way to start the day. 

So my goal is to start waking up at 6:00am.  Easy for many, but not for this girl.  Today I woke up at 6:50am like usual and rushed to be at work by 8:00am.  My plan is easy and I think I first read about it on “Zen Habits”.   I will set my alarm 10 minutes earlier each morning until I get to 6:00am.  At night, I will get in bed 10 minutes earlier as well.  Easy!  (Well, sounds easy atleast.)

So in 5 days I should have conquered this habit change.  Do you have any habits you’d like to change?  I would love to hear about them in the comments section.

One response to “minimalist check-in and changing habits

  • minify

    I think kitchen items were the very hardest for me to get rid of – maybe because I use all of them at some point, so it’s harder for me to see them as just taking up space. Confession: I still have 12 (yes, 12) weird little creme brulee dishes, even though I’ve only made creme brulee twice. Ever. I try to keep a sense of humor about it, and to take occasional pictures of our house so that I can see what’s really changed!

Leave a Reply

